Town Coat of Arms

Extract from the letters patent granted by Emperor Friedrich III, dated 9th December 1467:

"[...] The following crest and jewel, namely a vertically divided shield, the left-hand half being white and incorporating a red clambering wolf with slavering tongue, its tail in the air, and the other half being red, incorporating from the base a white castle wall with five crenellations and beneath them two arrow slits with a black gate that incorporates a golden portcullis; emerging from the middle of the wall there is a white un-roofed round tower with a window and above it three crenellations; on the shield is a helmet decorated with a white and red helm roof.

On it is also part of a white castellated tower as also illustrated on the shield and emerging from this half of a red wolf, its tongue slavering and poised to throw a white stone which it is holding in its right front paw [...]"

The full transcript of the letters patent relating to the coat of arms may be found and downloaded here in PDF format.

We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some are necessary, while others help us improve this website and your experience.